What I’ll ask of you

by thefearoffallin

Please don’t ask me to tell you my stories. If you ask what’s wrong, I might start to think you actually care.

Please don’t tell me you’re not like the others, because it’s the charmers like you who fostered my mistrust towards sweet-talkers.

Please don’t tell me to confide in you, because you’re not emotionally strong enough to bear the weight of my thoughts. If I suffocate in these thoughts, you’d drown in them too.

Please don’t tell me that there shouldn’t be secrets between me and you. Because between us, there’s distance, confusion, misunderstanding. Love. Secrets are the least you should worry about.

And just please please don’t tell me you love me, or even give me an inkling of hope that you ever will, because all I’ll do is depend on you for the love I cannot show myself. And if it turns out it’s anything but, the hopes that I hold on to to keep me breathing and the dreams that drive me to keep living, will cease to exist. Just like what we had between us, already has.